Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home

Homo Society

Society of continents of the worldThe continents of the world are large strips of land surrounded by water, where it is possible to find different forms of life, vegetation and climate. In total, there are six: America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania and Antarctica.

The continents of the world were formed in the Precambrian period, about 4.5 billion years ago, on tectonic plates, which were initially grouped in an immense territorial mass called Pangeia.

Continents and their countries

Below are the most populous countries on each continent:


Asia has 50 countries, the 10 most populous are:

Countries Capital Population
China Beijing 1.386 billion (2017)
India New Delhi 1.339 billion (2017)
Indonesia Jakarta 264 million (2017)
Pakistan Islamabad 197 million (2017)
Bangladesh Dhaka 164.7 million (2017)
Japan Tokyo 126.8 million (2017)
Philippines Manila 104.9 million (2017)
Vietnam Hanoi 95.54 million (2017)
Will Tehran 95.54 million (2017)
Thailand Bangkok 69.04 million (2017)


America has 36 countries. See countries by subcontinents:

According to Countryaah, North America has 4 countries:

Countries Capital Population
USA Washington 327.2 million (2018)
Mexico Mexico City 129.2 million (2017)
Greenland Nuuk 56,171 (2017)
Canada Ottawa 37.06 million (2018)

Of the 20 Central American countries the 5 most populous are:

Countries Capital Population
Guatemala Guatemala City 16.91 million (2017)
Cuba Havana 11.48 million (2017)
Honduras Tegucigalpa 9.265 million (2017)
El Salvador Salvador 6.378 million (2017)
Nicaragua Managua 6.218 million (2017)

Of the 12 countries in South America the 5 most populous are:

Countries Capital Population
Brazil Brasilia 209.3 million (2017)
Argentina Buenos Aires 44.27 million (2017)
Colombia Bogota 49.07 million (2017)
Venezuela Caracas 31.98 million (2017)
Peru lime 32.17 million (2017)


Africa has 54 countries, of which the 10 most populous are:

Countries Capital Population
Nigeria Abuja 190.9 million (2017)
Ethiopia Addis Ababa 105 million (2017)
Egypt Cairo 97.55 million (2017)
Democratic Republic of Congo Kinshasa 81.34 million (2017)
South Africa Pretoria (Executive), Bloemfontein (Judiciary), Cape Town (Legislative) 56.72 million (2017)
Tanzania Dodoma 57.31 million (2017)
Kenya Nairobi 49.7 million (2017)
Algeria Algiers 41.32 million (2017)
Sudan Khartoum 40.53 million (2017)
Uganda Kampala 42.86 million (2017)


Europe has 50 countries and the most populous are:

Countries Capital Population
Russia Moscow 144.5 million (2017)
Germany Berlin 82.79 million (2017)
Turkey Ankara 79.81 million (2017)
France Paris 66.99 million (2019)
United Kingdom London 66.04 million (2017)
Italy Pomegranate 60.59 million (2017)
Spain Madrid 46.72 million (2018)
Ukraine Kiev 44.83 million (2017)
Poland Warsaw 38.43 million (2017)
Romania Bucharest 19.64 million (2017)


Oceania has 14 countries and more than 10,000 islands. The most populous countries are:

Countries Capital Population
Australia Canberra 24.6 million (2017)
Papua New Guinea Port Moresby 8.251 million (2017)
New Zealand Wellington 4.794 million (2017)
Fiji Suva 905,502 (2017)
Solomon Islands Honiara 611,343 (2017)

In sum, a continent or continent is a very large, contiguous area of ​​land. In terms of size, there are Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe and Australia together with Oceania, i.e. seven continents.

Most continents are clearly separated from each other by oceans. Europe and Asia are an exception because there is no sea in between. Between the west and east, the Ural Mountains are the border. There are various possible boundaries between north and south, i.e. between the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea. Europe and Asia are therefore often called "Eurasia".

Asia, Europe and Africa are called the "old world", and in ancient times people traveled back and forth between Europe, Asia and Africa. The Europeans only discovered the “New World” at the beginning of modern times. The New World consisted of North America and South America. These two can also be seen as a large double continent, i.e. America. Australia was not part of the New World. The discovery of Australia followed at least 100 years later.

If you look at Europe and Asia as Eurasia and America as a double continent, then you only come across five continents with Africa, Antarctica and Australia. Otherwise you count up to seven continents. Oceania is not a real continent. But sometimes it is counted, sometimes it is counted as Australia.


Know the characteristics and the differences between the North Pole and the South Pole!

The North Pole and the South Pole are two geographic regions located, respectively, at the northern and southern tip of the Earth, registering the coldest temperatures on our planet and being characterized by the vastness of ice that covers them. Despite this, these two regions are very different. We will now know a little more about each of the land poles.

The North Pole, also known as the Arctic, is not even considered a continent, since it consists only of ice and polar caps. Despite this, there is animal life in this region, especially polar bears and some types of fish that live below the ice sheets, in addition to whales, seals and sea lions.

The South Pole, also known as Antarctica, is a continent, as it is a portion of land covered by large layers of ice. Unlike the north pole, it has variations in altitude, which makes it colder in the higher regions. Among the animals that live in Antarctica, penguins and other species that appear in the region to escape the heat or to reproduce, such as whales and some species of birds, stand out.

Solving the puzzle: in a fight between a Sea Lion and a Penguin, who would win?

Nobody. They live in different poles and will never meet!

Do Eskimos live in the North Pole or the South Pole?

At the North Pole. However, in reality, they do not live in the very north of the planet, but in the regions of Alaska, northern Canada and Russia, which are very close to the Arctic region.

Homo Society Copyright 2002 - 2020 All Rights Reserved